Skip to content Skip to navigation

UC Names Advisory Council on Tolerance, Inclusion

June 16, 2010

University of California President Mark G. Yudof today (June 16)
named 17 members of his Advisory Council on Campus Climate, Culture
and Inclusion, which will work closely with a UC Board of Regents
committee to address challenges in enhancing and sustaining a
tolerant, inclusive environment on each of the university’s 10 campuses.

The Advisory Council includes the presidents of the California
NAACP and Skirball Cultural Center, the director of religious
affairs for the Islamic Center of Southern California, a veteran
civil rights activist now with the Four Freedoms Fund, the director
of the Latino Center for Medical Education and Research, the legal
director of the National Center for Lesbian Rights and the chair of
the systemwide UC Academic Senate’s University Committee on
Affirmative Action and Diversity. The other 10 affiliated members
named come from UC’s 10 campuses and include student representatives.

The 18-member Council — chaired by Yudof and including UC
Merced cognitive science Professor Teenie Matlock — will
identify, evaluate and share “promising practices” at other
institutions across the state and nation, and monitor and evaluate
the progress of each campus toward ensuring conditions that support
the university’s mission and provide equal opportunities for all UC
students, faculty and staff.

Reflecting on the broad and diverse points of view represented
by the members, Yudof said, “This council will bring us experience
and reason — voices that will help enrich our campus climate
so that every single member of the UC community feels welcome,
comfortable and safe.

“The issues we examine and the resolutions we achieve with the
council apply not only to the students. We want students, faculty,
staff and the local communities around the campuses all to have the
opportunity to participate in a nurturing and stimulating environment.”

The appointment of the Council on Campus Climate, Culture and
Inclusion follows a series of highly charged racial, religious and
cultural incidents during the past year on several UC campuses.

Each appointed member, except for the student members, agreed to
serve a three-year term ending June 30, 2013. Upon graduation, each
student member will be replaced by another student.

The council will meet for the first time the afternoon of June
30 at the UC Office of the President and provide regular reports
and updates to the Regents Ad Hoc Committee on Campus Climate,
chaired by Regent Eddie Island.

Locally constituted Climate Councils on each campus will set
metrics, monitor progress and report regularly to the systemwide
Advisory Council on Campus Climate, Culture and Inclusion.

In addition to Yudof, members of the Advisory Council on Campus
Climate, Culture and Inclusion are:

M. Ines Boechat

Chair, University Committee on Affirmative Action and

Systemwide Academic Senate

Professor, Department of Radiological Sciences, UCLA

Henry Der

Senior Program Officer, Four Freedoms Fund

Katherine A. Flores

Director, Latino Center for Medical Education and Research,

UCSF Fresno

Uri D. Herscher

President and CEO, Skirball Cultural Center

Alice A. Huffman

President, California NAACP

Imam Jihad Turk

Director of Religious Affairs, Islamic Center of Southern California

Shannon Price Minter

Legal Director, National Center for Lesbian Rights

David Stark

Executive Director, Stiles Hall, Berkeley, California

UC Berkeley Affiliated Member

Cheyenne Currall

Principal Officer, International Business Development,

UC Davis Health System

UC Davis Affiliated Member

Megan Braun

Undergraduate Student, President, ASUCI

UC Irvine Affiliated Member

Tyrone Howard

Associate Professor, Urban Schooling

Graduate School of Education & Information Studies

UCLA Affiliated Member

Teenie Matlock

Founding Faculty and Associate Professor of Cognitive

Cognitive and Information Sciences

UC Merced Affiliated Member

Yolanda T. Moses

Associate Vice Chancellor for Diversity, Excellence &
Equity, and Professor of


UC Riverside Affiliated Member

Jorge Mariscal

Professor, Department of Literature

UC San Diego Affiliated Member

Joseph I. Castro

Vice Provost - Student Academic Affairs & Special
Assistant to the

Chancellor, Adjunct Professor of Family & Community

UC San Francisco Affiliated Member

Beth E. Schneider

Professor of Sociology and Chair, Santa Barbara Division
Academic Senate

Committee on Diversity & Equity

UC Santa Barbara Affiliated Member

John Johnson

Graduate Student, President Graduate Student Association

UC Santa Cruz Affiliated Member

Jesse Bernal, who is at the end of his term as a student Regent,
is serving as staff to the Advisory Council.